Copper Coast - Lifestyle Location of Choice

The countdown to the 2019 Lions 201C1 District Convention is on.
We are excited about hosting the convention and welcoming all lions to the Copper Coast for our annual AGM, fellowship and festivities. It is going to be a fantastic few days. Why not extend your stay and make it a holiday and enjoy what Kadina, Moonta, Wallaroo and Bute have to offer.

Registration Early Bird Prize Winner: Congratulations PDG Frank Gratton

Arura (previously known as Pt Hughes Accommodation Centre)
Access via Uffindell Street, off Port Hughes Road


Tony Benbow OAM


Tony Benbow from Vermont South, Australia, was elected to serve a two-year term as a director of Lions Clubs International at the association’s 99th International Convention held in Fukuoka, Japan, June 24 through 28, 2016.

A member of the South Vermont Lions Club since 1985, he has held many offices within the association, including club president, district governor, council chairperson and GMT area leader. In recognition of his service to the association, he has received numerous awards, including a Membership Advancement Key, Club President Excellence Award, two International President’s Certificates of Appreciation and nine International President’s Awards. He is also a Progressive Melvin Jones Fellow.

kevin masters


Our district convention is an opportunity for us all to gather together to celebrate our achievements, reflect on our past and look forward to the future. Come along and learn about different projects across the district, gain new ideas, meet up with old friends and make new ones.

The convention committee has worked tirelessly to put together an interesting program held at great venues on the beautiful Copper Coast.

I extend this invitation not only to Lions, but also to your family and friends, to showcase our wonderful district and organisation.


We have an exciting program for this year’s convention.

Time Session Speakers Venue
3:30 - 4:30pm Registrations Kadina Football & Netball Club
5:00 - 9:00pm Civic Reception / Opening & Flag Ceremony / Dinner (2 Course Meal) Kadina Football & Netball Club
Time Session Speakers Venue
9am - 5pm Plenary Session / Project Presentations / Guest Speaker Kadina Football & Netball Club
6:30pm - 10pm District Governor's Banquet Wallaroo Community Sports Club
Time Session Speakers Venue
10am - 1pm Remembrance Ceremony / Closing / Lunch (BBQ) Arura Group Stays & Function Centre

Download Full Program
(Program subject to change without notice until final program printed)


Sonbern Lodge Motel

Sonbern Lodge Motel
First opened in 1915, Sonbern Lodge has been a welcome haven for many travelers. Over the years the building has under gone many changes and now offers “Quality” accommodation. All rooms have ensuite, hairdryer, s/s r/c air conditioning, LCD TV, fridge, microwave and tea/coffee making facilities as standard features.

Visit Website

Wallaroo Holiday Park

Wallaroo Holiday Park
Relax and enjoy glorious unrestricted sea views from the comfort of your tastefully furnished lounge room. Delight in the murmur of waves just 20 metres from your front door. Experience all the pleasures of one of Australias safest and cleanest beaches, with ideal conditions for swimming, wind surfing, water skiing and fishing.

Visit Website

Mac's Beachfront Villas

Mac’s Beachfront Villas
The Mac’s Beachfront Villa’s is an award winning beach-side resort environment conveniently located within walking distance to everything Wallaroo has to offer. The Villas has recently been re-developed and now offers guests a number of different styles of villas to choose from.

Visit Website

Angler's Inn Hotel

The Angler’s Inn Hotel Motel
The Anglers inn built in the mid 1800’s has seen many name and identity changes over the eras. The Anglers Inn continues the tradition as a family friendly Hotel with 20 Budget Motel Units, Large family friendly bistro with kids playroom and much more.

Visit Website

Office Beach Caravan Park

Office Beach Caravan Park
Situated on absolute picturesque beach frontage, overlooking Wallaroo Bay. Whether it be a romantic walk along the sandy beaches, or a family holiday to remember, the Office Beach Caravan Park has many facilities to make your stay enjoyable, and a stay to remember.

Visit Website


kadina lion members

President: Carol Barnes – 0428 21822 / carol.barnes@kadinalions.org.au

Secretary: Ian Whale – 0419  840 305 / secretary@kadinalions.org.au    

 Treasurer : David Goold – 0417 815 880 / davidgoold@bigpond.com

Kadina Lions Club History

Kadina Lions was formed on the 28th September1967 (Roster 482) the first Dinner Meeting was held on the 2nd of October 1967. The Club’s Charter was presented on the 10th February 1968.

Charter Officers consisted of : Charter Chairman – Dean Newbold, Charter President: John Sullivan, Secretary: Bruce Behrndt.

The first Dinner Meeting was held at the Wombat Hotel on Taylor St., where the Club still meets.

The club has recently celebrated its 50-year anniversary with a luncheon and a range of activities that many past members returned to KADINA for.


Wallaroo Lions Club

President: Keith Brooks – 0484 380 335

Secretary: Barbara Newman – 0457 596 488 / barbnewman@hotmail.com

Treasurer: Keith de la Haye – 0427 612 123 / lionsclubofwallaroo@gmail.com

Wallaroo Lions Club History

After some preliminary work by the Lions Club of Kadina, a meeting was held at the “Esquire Motel” – Wallaroo, when it was decided to form the Lions Club of Wallaroo on the 2nd November 1971, with “Jimma” Evans as the inaugural president.

The Club’s Charter Dinner, held in the Wallaroo Town on the 15th March 1972, was apparently quite an affair with an attendance of 278 souls to officially welcome the Wallaroo Club into Lions International.  Representatives from 31 South Australian Clubs presented bannerettes to start the club off.

However, things did not progress during 1972 as well as they started.  Some of the charter members I believe did not get around to paying their first year’s dues and the position looked grim. The District Governor suggested that Lion John Sullivan, who was the Inaugural President of the Kadina Club and who was now living at Wallaroo, might transfer to the Wallaroo Club and see what could be done The suggestion was put into practice and at the Annual Handover Dinner in 1972 the Charter was passed onto “Sully”.

moonta bay jetty

Moonta Lions Club

President: Lorraine Darling – 0418 830 639 / lsd045@hotmail.com

Secretary: Ralph Esposito – 0429 422 474 / ralph.esposito1@outlook.com

Treasurer: John Neville – 0407 970 443 / johnw.neville@bigpond.com

Moonta Lions Club History

The Moonta Lions Club was Chartered on 15th January 1970 and Chartered on the 18th April 1970 the Sponsoring Club was Kadina Lions.

Charter Officers consisted of: President: Ross Braley, Secretary: Howard Loller and Treasurer: Ian Hall at that stage we had 31 members within the club and we will be celebrating our 50th Anniversary next year.

The current President – Lorraine Darling has held this position for the last 6 years and the Treasurer John Neville with a term of 4 years.

Currently we have 19 members and our meetings are held on the First Thursday of the Month and Works meetings on the Third Thursday of the month please contact the secretary for locations.